Celebrate Your Independence!

On July 4th, we will celebrate our country’s independence. Why not celebrate yours from smoking? 

uncle sam

Pick a quit date and devise a plan. Your freedom is priceless. 

what is your story question

Has your life been affected by cigarette smoking? Are you a former smoker? Did you quit for personal health reasons? How long did you smoke? Are you a current smoker? Do you know someone who died after years of smoking? We are always looking for new stories for our Tobacco Cessation and Prevention Blog. You NEVER know when your story could help someone else and encourage them to stop smoking. Send us your contact information below so we can tell YOUR story.


Man silhouette

Lawrence’s Story

I tried to quit smoking for years, but was met with negative results.  I would not smoke for about 2 or 3 weeks, but when I got bored with nothing to do I  grabbed a cigarette.  My wife asked me for years to stop smoking. My reply was “you have to die with something,” but little did I know I would be forced to quit. In October 2012 I was diagnosed with lung cancer. After intensive chemo therapy and surgery, and by the grace of GOD I am  cancer free.

Most of the time I would smoke and did not even have the urge to. I was bored.  When I quit smoking, and looked back I said, “WOW! It was my mind telling me all the time that I could not quit smoking.”  But, all the time I could.  When my higher power wanted my attention it was so easy to stop drinking, and smoking.  I quit both of them cold turkey  at the same time.  Once I quit smoking,  I found that it was easy to stop. Thank you Lord for getting my attention!!!!!!! I feel much better now that I have quit smoking. 

Are you currently a smoker? Take our quick poll!  

 

Leave a Reply

