One Day at a Time.

One day at time

Thinking about quitting? Come up with a quit plan. A well thought out plan will give you the best chance of success even if you slip up. Setbacks are to be expected when changing any unhealthy behavior. Proceed by asking yourself these questions:

1. What are my reasons for wanting to quit?

2. What will I gain by quitting? What will I lose?

3. What are my short- and long-term goals? How will quitting help me reach these goals?

4. What times or occasions would make it hard to stick to my decision?

5. How can I plan ahead to avoid these situations? If I can’t, what can I do instead of smoking?

6. How can I reward myself for not smoking, especially during the first few weeks?

Write out your plan about two weeks before your quit date. Share with a trusted friend or family member that will help hold you accountable  for sticking with your plan. Remember it’s perfectly normal to have setbacks, but you will have your plan to refer to to be able to get back up and try again.

Questions taken from “I Won’t Smoke Contract” (Kay Clark, ETR Associates)


 

what is your story question

Has your life been affected by cigarette smoking? Are you a former smoker? Did you quit for personal health reasons? How long did you smoke? Are you a current smoker? Do you know someone who died after years of smoking? We are always looking for new stories for our Tobacco Cessation and Prevention Blog. You NEVER know when your story could help someone else and encourage them to stop smoking. Send us your contact information below so we can tell YOUR story.

Are you currently a smoker? Take our quick poll!  

Leave a Reply

