If At First You Don’t Succeed, It’s Okay! Try Again!

tobacco blog1

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, quitting smoking is difficult and may require several attempts. Users often return to smoking because of withdrawal symptoms, stress, and weight gain. Nicotine withdrawal symptoms may include irritability, anxiety, difficulty concentrating, cravings for a cigarette, and increased appetite. 

Have you tried to quit once before? Were you unsuccessful? It’s okay…..try again.

Are you currently a smoker? Take our quick poll!  

Vince Higgins

Vince’s Story:

It may not be especially awe-inspiring, as much as it is a testimony to faith.

I had been a regular smoker for over a decade and in Feb. 2014 made the decision to quit…again.

This was my third serious dance with quitting. The first time was based on my family’s pleas for me to quit. While I loved my family and was convinced that THEY wanted me to stop, I wasn’t yet fully invested in the idea. That attempt failed after only 27 days.

The second time, I thought finance would be a good incentive. After my employer-provided health insurance tacked on a hefty increase to my monthly premiums, I said I would stop if cigarette price per pack went above $5.00. I looked at the numbers and calculated the amount of money I would save, etc. But still, that attempt failed after about 2 months.

I told everyone, “Hey, I’m getting there…ease up.”

In late 2013, I took serious assessment of my habit. I surmised that quitting would only be successful if I was convinced that it was time to quit. I had to commit to it. I had to be open and honest with my family about my struggle with breaking the addiction.

It took a lot of sunflower seeds, Mentos and Dasani Lemon Water, but mostly PRAYER.

I prayed every time I had the urge to smoke. Each prayer consisted of:

1. Thanks for bringing me this far.

2. Continued Deliverance from nicotine’s physical and mental effects.

3. To Strengthen my Faith.

I also had to realize that the occasional set-backs that occurred did not constitute a complete failure on my part. Just get up and keep the goal in mind.

I enjoy doing things with my family without having to segregate time away from them just for the fleeting temporary need to light up, or dip or chew. And yes…food does taste better!!!

I still occasionally have the urge to smoke but over time, these have waned in severity and frequency.

Let’s keep praying.

what is your story question

Has your life been affected by cigarette smoking? Are you a former smoker? Did you quit for personal health reasons? How long did you smoke? Are you a current smoker? Do you know someone who died after years of smoking? We are always looking for new stories for our Tobacco Cessation and Prevention Blog. You NEVER know when your story could help someone else and encourage them to stop smoking. Send us your contact information below so we can tell YOUR story.

Leave a Reply

