I Quit Cold Turkey!

Rosie Shelton

Rosie’s Story:

I started smoking at an early age….13 years old to be exact….and didn’t quit until I was in my 50’s. In my mind, at the time, I wanted to be an adult. I thought it was cool. At such a young age, I didn’t have any money so I would smoke one of my brother’s. Since I only really smoked when socializing, I didn’t think it was a problem. That is until I started hearing all of the negative effects it was doing to my body. That’s when I knew I had to change.

Bottom line….I decided I wanted to live. I chose to live. I needed to live. I woke up one day, asked God to deliver me from the addiction, flushed my remaining cigarettes down the toilet and quit cold turkey. Unlike others, I did not have any urges or withdrawals. I realized I wanted to live a long, beautiful life so I had to leave the cigarettes alone.

Now, I don’t even like to be around anyone who is smoking. I won’t allow it in my home.

My advice to anyone who is still smoking: Instead of cutting back….just cut it out! 

what is your story question

Has your life been affected by cigarette smoking? Are you a former smoker? Did you quit for personal health reasons? How long did you smoke? Are you a current smoker? Do you know someone who died after years of smoking? We are always looking for new stories for our Tobacco Cessation and Prevention Blog. You NEVER know when your story could help someone else and encourage them to stop smoking. Send us your contact information below so we can tell YOUR story.

Tobacco Blog__cold turkey

 

Many smokers quit “cold turkey,” but if you are a smoker and want to learn about other ways to quit smoking

the Tennessee Tobacco Quit Line is an excellent resource. Call 1-800-QUIT-NOW!

 

Are you currently a smoker? Take our quick poll! 

 

Leave a Reply

