For My Family

Madear

Magnolia’s Story

I really don’t remember why or how I started smoking. I do remember picking up my first cigarette around the age of 10. I just thought I would try something. As a teenager, I wasn’t an everyday smoker but I would have a smoke or two or three every once in a while. It was quite strange because no one around me really smoked except for James. When I was 17, James and I got married and had our first child. Well by the time I was 27, I had a husband, seven young children, and smoke a half a pack to a pack a day. Back then no one knew the dangers of smoking, no warning labels, and definitely no surgeon’s report. James had quit smoking cold turkey and I was still struggling to quit. It had been so easy for him but it took me 3 attempts to quit. My third and final attempt was in 1979. I was a wife, mother of 7, and grandmother of 14 with 3 more on the way. I knew something had to change for my family. I didn’t want to be the reason my grandchildren picked up this nasty habit. I also wanted to be around to enjoy my grandchildren. So the love for my family was my reason for quitting. I am now 83 years old with 35 grandchildren, 79 great grands, and 1 great great grand. I have been smoke-free 35 years and loving every minute.

 

what is your story question

Has your life been affected by cigarette smoking? Are you a former smoker? Did you quit for personal health reasons? How long did you smoke? Are you a current smoker? Do you know someone who died after years of smoking? We are always looking for new stories for our Tobacco Cessation and Prevention Blog. You NEVER know when your story could help someone else and encourage them to stop smoking. Send us your contact information below so we can tell YOUR story.

Tobacco Blog__cold turkey
 

You can quit for your family and the Tennessee Tobacco Quit Line is an excellent resource. Call 1-800-QUIT-NOW!

 Are you currently a smoker? Take our quick poll! 

 

One thought on “For My Family

  1. Marcha E. Allen says:

    My Madear is this sweetest woman you will ever meet! I love her so much for choosing to be smoke free. I believe it really made a difference because none of the granddaughters smoke.

    Like

Leave a Reply

